User Guide on creating .apk and list it under Google Play Store

Danny Cheah

Hi David,

Is there a guide on how to compile my application into .apk and to submit to Google Play Store? I would like to compile my Apps to .apk for testing on my device but not sure if I did it correctly or not. Any help will be much appreciated.

Thanks a million.
Thank you.
Best regards,
Danny Cheah

decsoft

Hello Danny,

I am not an expert in the store (now I just develop the apps!), but, what App Builder provides are various BAT files (talking about Windows, also creates SHELL files for Mac OS, to be used in the same way and for the same purpose). These files names are "debug", "run" and "release".

When we execute the "run" BAT file Apache Cordova generates a debug APK of our apps, and, if we have a device connected to our PC (or an iPhone connected to our Mac OS), after the APK for Android (or IPA for iOS) is generated the app is launching in the device.

To do the above we just must connect our device in the computer, if everything is ok (the drivers are ready, etc.) we can use the "run" BAT to compile and launch the app into the device, so this is the best way to debug the app in a real device.

If we have no devices connected and execute the "run" BAT file, Cordova try to launch the device emulator configured in the Android SDK / Android Studio. I told you this is the best way to debug the app... but talking about the device... because normally we can debug the app in a browser, which is more easy and fast. Only when need to try something that only works in a device... we need to test it in the device, of course.

Then we have the "debug" BAT file (or SHELL file). Executing this Cordova prepares a "debug" compilation of our app that we can copy to our device or another, etc. It's the same than "run", except that with the "debug" the app is not launched in any device nor emulator.